How do you manage the finances in your relationship? Does one person hold the purse strings or do you both have joint accounts. Do you discuss savings, do you help with each other’s debt, do you split the mortgage?

Finances is the number one reason for divorce and its important to discuss expectations and practices. I had the uncomfortable finance conversation over the weekend and it shed some light on the personality of the person I’m dating. As a adult who was raised in a single parent home, sharing is so tricky for me. My mother worked very hard to ensure we lived very well and she managed her own finances, its a challenge having someone give you an allowance and/or tell you “we can’t afford that”. I hope I don’t sabotage my relationship because of my own selfishness or my desire to be an independent woman.
Can you be financially independent in a relationship?

Talk soon

