I’ve been asked why I call myself “The Reluctant Wife” and after much contemplation I think I’ve come up with a concise answer.

To be blunt, I’m afraid to be a wife. I’ve dated amazing guys, who have treated me very well but every time we get to the place in our relationship where we have to talk about taking the next step….I bolt. The thought of sharing my life with someone terrifies me. I don’t want the person that I love to see my flaws and warts but I always tend to date and attract guys who are serious and want to settle down. My lack of commitment has cost me much and I’m trying slowly to self-heal and climb outside this emotional sink hole that I’ve made.

I’m also a child of divorce and after years of thinking that I handled my parents divorce well, it was brought to my attention that I haven’t forgiven my Dad. Yup, I’m the woman who has Daddy issues who takes it out on the men she dates. I’m also shocked that I just typed that but I’m not going to erase it, because I want to be transparent and it’s a major step in my healing process. So, that’s a little bit about me and a huge thank you to all of you who read this blog. Over the next few weeks I plan to write about divorce, bad boys, cougars and feeling sexy!

Are you afraid to commit? What’s your biggest fear about settling down?

Much love and happy dating!!!

