“And when you choose a life partner, you’re choosing a lot of things, including your parenting partner and someone who will deeply influence your children, your eating companion for about 20,000 meals, your travel companion for about 100 vacations, your primary leisure time and retirement friend, your career therapist, and someone whose day you’ll hear about 18,000 times”

This quote gave me a mini anxiety attack! I’m happily dating right now and everything is going well but the reality of commitment and the future threw me for a loop. I tend to look 20 years down the line and not enjoy my relationship in the present, and doing that has ended many relationships that had potential. For some reason, I never envision myself happy with my husband but instead miserable and empty. I’m not sure if I’m projecting my fears or if I’m clairyvoyant. (I highly doubt I’m clairvoyant)

I’ve only had two meltdowns in this relationship and my new coping techniques are to either lift weights when I feel like the seriousness of the relationship is too much or to repeat my mantra. “If this isn’t working, I can always leave”. It’s really helped me take control of errant and baseless feelings.

How is your commitment journey going? Still feeling overwhelmed with love and dating? Are you focused on the end result and not the joy of dating? Check back tomorrow for some more coping techniques and tips on how to center yourself while getting to know someone romantically.

Don;t forget you can ask me for love advice in the comments or by email at the thereluctantwife@gmail.com

kisses

trw

