I normally only speak about romantic relationships here but as I grow emotionally, I’m beginning to focus on all aspects of my relationships. To be honest, maintaining relationships have always been challenging for me. I used to blame it on picking the wrong friends, but that’s lazy and I have to own my shit. Truth of the matter is, I’m not a great friend. I’m bad with details, I need a lot of space and I don’t like to catch up. I’ve struggled to change these traits and I’ve come to the place where I’m happy with my quirks but my friends often comment about how isolating our friendship can be for them. 

My relationships with my friends are tricky but even press with my family. Over the weekend, I had a huge fight with a family member and I often wonder if I’m the only one who doesn’t want a personal or loving relationship with their family. I know that family is important and that family is all I have at the end of the day…but… my family can be incredibly draining and dealing with the intricacies of each persons personality is excruciating for me. I see now why people avoid family events like the plague. As I slowly detach from mine, feelings of uncertainty and fear are slowly creeping in but I’m committed to being around people who love me despite myself and who wish me well. 

Are you lose with your family? How do you handle conflict with them? 

TRW 

