frustrated

 

I was reminded today that some men want you for your body but have no intentions on supporting your emotional well-being. I’ve always known that in theory, but the glaring realty of it slapped me upside my head this morning. I wasn’t hurt but more insistent that I share my time with people who actually love me. I have no time for fair-weather lovers who only love my shape, my lips, my laugh but can’t  find it in themselves to hug me when I’m stressed, offer a helping hand when I’m drowning or even simply pray for me when I’m at a crossroad. This is why I tell my girlfriends that building your worth on the foundation of a man’s affection is dangerous. That foundation might cave in and you’ll find yourself submerged with his well wishes and kind sentiments.

I’m thankful that my request was deemed as a nuisance to him and I’m also glad that I made the decision to leave. I wasn’t sure at first because like a shoe, he fit ok, but after a few miles, like a shoe, he started to pinch. He was great when nothing was asked of him and no sacrifices had to be made, but in the end like a shoe, he was just nice to look at but deteriorated when real motion took place.

If you have any questions about love and you need advice, feel free to email me at thereluctantwife@gmail.com. My ears are available 24/7

 

 

trw

